October 2, 2013

Texas A&M Faculty And Staff Named SEC Academic Leadership Fellows

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) has announced that four Texas A&M University faculty and administrators are among 49 from  member institutions selected as 2013-14 SEC Academic Leadership Development Program (ALDP) fellows. 

The Texas A&M honorees are George Cunningham, associate dean, College of Education & Human Development; Sumana Datta, executive director, Honors & Undergraduate Research; Rosana G. Moreira, assistant department head, Department of Biological & Agricultural Engineering; and John N. Stallone, acting department head, Department of Veterinary Physiology & Pharmacology.

George Cunningham

Using its SECU academic initiative, the SEC sponsors, supports and promotes collaborative higher education programs and activities involving administrators, faculty and students at its member universities. The goals of the SECU initiative include highlighting the endeavors and achievements of SEC faculty and universities; advancing the merit and reputation of SEC universities outside of the traditional SEC region; identifying and preparing future leaders for high-level service in academia; increasing the amount and type of education-abroad opportunities available to SEC students; and providing opportunities for collaboration among SEC university personnel.

Sumana Datta

“The individuals selected by their SEC universities to participate in the SEC Academic Leadership Development Program represent the future of higher education administration,” said Torie Johnson, SECU executive director. “The leadership skills they already possess are sure to be enhanced by the SEC ALDP experience.”

The SEC Academic Leadership Development Program (ALDP) is a professional development program that seeks to identify, prepare and advance academic leaders for roles within SEC institutions and beyond. It has two components: a university-level development program designed by each institution for its own participants and two, three-day, SEC-wide workshops held on specified campuses for all program participants.

Rosana G. Moreira

This year’s workshops will be held Oct. 14-16 at the University of Georgia in Athens, and Feb. 5-7 at the University of South Carolina in Columbia.

The SEC ALDP, established in 2008, fosters academic leadership among SEC faculty by allowing them the unique opportunity to address the challenges of academic administration at major research universities.

John N. Stallone

Another academic award was established by the SEC presidents – the SEC Faculty Achievement Award – to recognize professors within the SEC for their accomplishments, scholarly contributions and discoveries. Each of the SEC’s 14 member schools selects a professor for the award, and one of them is then named SEC Professor of the Year each spring.

John Nielsen-Gammon, Regents Professor of Atmospheric Sciences at Texas A&M, who also serves as State Climatologist, was selected to receive 2013 Southeastern Conference Faculty Achievement Award.

A complete list of the 2013-14 SEC Academic Leadership Development Program fellows is online.







Media Contact: Bryant Welbourne, SECU,  (205) 949-8960 or Tura King, Division of Marketing & Communications, at (979) 845-4670

Tags: , ,

Share this story