November 6, 2012

Regents Professors and Fellows Named By Texas A&M Board

Eight Texas A&M University faculty and staff members, many of whom also hold joint appointments with a College Station-based agency of The Texas A&M University System,  have been designated as Regents Professor or Regents Fellow for 2011-12 by the Texas A&M  System Board of Regents. In all, 18 professors and fellows were named from throughout the Texas A&M System.

“These awards are an opportunity for us to recognize the outstanding work our faculty and staff are doing throughout the A&M System,” said Richard A. Box, chairman of the Board of Regents. “The recipients come from different backgrounds and areas of expertise, but the common thread they have is their dedication to their professions and the A&M System.”

The board established the Regents Professor Award program in 1996 and Regents Fellow Service Award program in 1998 to recognize faculty and staff who have made exemplary contributions to their university or agency and to the people of Texas.

“We have so many outstanding people working for the A&M System and these awards are a way to honor the special men and women for all that they do for the people of Texas,” said John Sharp, chancellor of the A&M System. “Some of these recipients are researchers, some are teachers and all are examples of the innovations and excellence that makes the A&M System so special.”

Texas A&M recipients of the 2011-12 Regents Professor Award, some of whom hold joint appointments with a System agency (if applicable, so noted), are: Michael J. Benedik, professor of biology and genetics and interim dean of faculties and associate provost; Leonard L. Berry, Distinguished Professor of Marketing and the M.B. Zale Chair in Retailing and Marketing Leadership in the Mays Business School and a researcher at the Texas A&M Health Science Center; Delbert M. Gatlin III, professor of wildlife and fisheries sciences and Texas A&M AgriLife Research;  Valerie E. Taylor, Royce E. Wisenbaker Professor of Computer Science and Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES), and John R. Schwarz, professor of marine biology, Texas A&M University at Galveston.

College Station-based recipients of the Regents Fellow Service Award, some of whom also hold joint appointments with Texas A&M, are: Jim Mazurkiewicz, AgriLife Extension Service and Leadership Program Director; Ari M. Michelsen, AgriLife Research and professor and resident director of agricultural economics; and Jackie C. Rudd, AgriLife Research and professor of agronomy.
To date, 166 Texas A&M System faculty members have been recognized with the Regents Professor Award and 96 agency professionals have received the Regents Fellow Service Award. 

To see the complete list of all 18 System honorees this year, go here.

About the A&M System
The A&M System is one of the largest systems of higher education in the nation, with a budget of $3.5 billion. Through a statewide network of 11 universities, seven state agencies and a comprehensive health science center, the A&M System educates more than 120,000 students and makes more than 22 million additional educational contacts through service and outreach programs each year. Externally funded research expenditures exceed $780 million and help drive the state’s economy.

Contact: Steven B. Moore at (979) 458-6023

Tags: ,

Share this story